Lucroy defends Braun, bashes ESPN

> This is the kind of thing I love to see players do for their teammates.

>Yesterday, on the 620-AM WTMJ radio station (the Brewers flagship station), Brewers catcher Jonathan Lucroy gave a strong defense of Ryan Braun, in the midst of this whole “drug story.” He said he would be extremely surprised if Braun truly did use a banned substance on purpose. Here were some of his exact words:

“I feel for him, I really do. Let me tell you something for everybody that’s listening: I’ve seen this guy in the weight room every single day work his butt off. There is no one on this team that works as hard as he does. I’ve never witnessed him do anything that I would think or anyone else would think is illegal. I honestly think it was some kind of screw-up. I don’t know what happened. I would be very, very, very shocked if he actually took something knowingly. This guy is way too smart to do something like that. That’s the first thing I said, the first thing that people I’ve talked to who know him said: There’s no way. He doesn’t need to take that stuff to be as good as he is, and everybody who knows him, knows that.”

That’s about as true as it gets. And, Lucroy bashed ESPN, who first leaked the news back in December.

“Absolutely, it ticked me off becausae it’s not anybody else’s business. There’s a lot of guys, not that I know personally, but everybody that has had this happen to before, I don’t know if that stuff has leaked or not. I don’t think it’s anybody’s business until it’s proven one way or another. I think everybody is going to paint Braun with a broad brush and be like, ‘Oh, he’s a cheater.’ The thing that bothers me is that if he’s proven innocent, he is going to have this stigma the rest of his life. That’s what bothers me. He doesn’t deserve it. My personal opinion is he doesn’t deserve it. I really have faith in the fact that the right decision is going to be made, and hopefully people can admit their mistakes, and hopefully we come out of this clean. Because I tell you what, we need him. We need him as a teammate and we need him as an icon for our organization.”

It’s great to see a professional sports player bashing ESPN. Because he’s completely right- nobody has the right to judge him before the case is proven true, if it’s ever proven true. But that’s what ESPN does. They’re basketball-biased probably at least 85% of the time, but, when something negative happens in another sport, they jump on it immediately.

If it’s proven that Braun isn’t guilty, I would love to see ESPN get killed by the media for giving him gas about something that isn’t true. But what I’d love even more is for Skip Bayless- the reporter who has bashed Braun the most about this, even saying that his MVP should be stripped- get fired.

> Anyway, it’s getting late. I’ll update this more tomorrow, but,  until then, thanks for reading, and feel free to leave your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

