Braun’s positive test reportedly came from medication

> I don’t know if this makes it better, but at least we may know the cause of this whole issue.

> Ryan Braun‘s positive drug test (which was actually because of an unusually high amount of testosterone) apparently came because of some sort of medication. Braun was using this medication to get around a “private medical issue.” Both the medical issue and the medication used are still unknown.

But all of this doesn’t really change anything. Braun’s appeal in front of an arbitrator is still probably going to happen sometime in January, and the fact that no Major League player has ever won an appeal drug-related still looms over him. But, hopefully the fact that it was just “medication” changes that. But who knows- maybe the medication was a drug of some sort. We won’t know until the whole appeal process is over.

In the meantime, I’m still extremely angry at ESPN for leaking the information early. But, I’ve already vented about that in like three different posts, so before I do again, let’s move on…

> The Yu Darvish speculation is over- the Rangers have won negotiating rights with him. It was expected by almost every source that the Blue Jays were going to win the bidding, but the Rangers ended up offering more cash.

This make since for the Rangers, though, who just lost their staff ace, C.J. Wilson, to their division rival Angels. Assuming Darvish doesn’t turn out like Daisuke Matsuzaka, he’ll replace Wilson’s role as ace.

> The Darvish news makes the fact that the Brewers have officially won negotiating rights with Japanese outfielder Norichika Aoki almost unnoticed. The Brewers said that, since they don’t have any scouts currently stationed in Japan, that they’ll have a workout with Aoki at their Spring Training complex in Maryvale, Arizona sometime in January. But, it needs to be before January 17th, because that’s the deadline for coming to terms with Aoki.

Anyway, you can read my post about where I think Aoki fits with the Brewers from the other day, because it’s kind of complicated, and I don’t want to write it all again.

> Jimmy Rollins officially re-signed with the Phillies today. But, the scary thing is that he gave some serious thought about coming to the Brewers.

Rollins was offered a four-year deal by the Brewers, and gave it some serious consideration.

“I had a four-year deal on the table, but it wasn’t necessarily with a team that I could have seen myself playing for,” were Rollin’s exact words.

Which is completely fine with me. I couldn’t see Rollins in a Brewers’ uniform either, and I wouldn’t have been thrilled had he signed with the Brewers. I’m content with Alex Gonzalez, who I can’t wait to see play defense next year.

> And that’s about it. Before I go, I have a few announcements- my midterms are finally over, but I’m leaving on vacation the day after tomorrow until January 3rd. So, I won’t be posting daily during that time. I might not post at all- but, if I do, they’ll probably be much shorter posts, since they’ll be coming from my phone. I will continue to tweet on my Twitter account (@BreakingWI) with all the Brewers news, though.

Anyway, thanks for reading, and feel free to leave your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

