Not much Brewers news over the past few days…

> Well, we’re again experiencing one of the major downsides of the offseason- no news to talk about. That’s part of the reason I haven’t posted in a few days, but I also had midterms for most of the week (I’m in high school, if you don’t know). Those prevented me from posting, let alone even get on the computer.

> Anyway, there was one somewhat significant piece of news that was Brewers-related this week- John Axford won the 2011 Tip O’Neill Award, along with co-winner Joey Votto.

The Tip O’Neill Award is presented by the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame every year, which is why it’s usually given to the best Canadian players in the MLB. Axford is from Simcoe, Ontario, while Votto grew up in Toronto, also in Ontario.

> Since there’s nothing else Brewers-related, I’ll talk about the Japanese pitcher who’s completely changing the free agent market- Yu Darvish. The posting fee for Darvish ended yesterday, and his Japanese team, the Nippon Ham Fighters (oh, how I love the names of Japanese baseball teams), is still reviewing the bids. Bids were reportedly submitted by the Yankees, Cubs, Blue Jays, and Rangers, at least the major bids.

Darvish’s numbers in Japan over the past few years have been unbelievable. In 2011, he went 18-6 with a 1.44 ERA, and has a 1.99 ERA in his seven-year career. But, history of Japanese pitchers making the transition to the MLB hasn’t been all that promising. Kei Igawa, Hideki Irabu, and Daisuke Matsuzaka are premier examples of failed attempts at pitching in the Majors after moving from Japan. The hitters from Japan, such as Ichiro Suzuki and Hideki Matsui, seem to have a bit more success. But the only pitcher from Japan who has had success that I can think of is Hiroki Kuroda.

Anyway, people think Darvish will be different, because he’s supposedly half-Japanese, half-Iranian, giving him a stronger body-build than a regular Japanese man. Darvish’s repertoire is also said to consist of many different pitches- three different fastballs, at least three different breaking balls, and possibly a change up. I feel bad for whoever his catcher is going to be…

> And that’s about all the major news. But, before I go, I have a bit of a story to tell.

So today I went on Breaking Wisconsin for the first time in two days (I couldn’t go on because of midterms, as I said earlier), and I expected to see no hits because I hadn’t posted advertising links on Twitter or anywhere. But, I noticed that today was actually a record-breaking day, as far as views go, despite the fact I’d been inactive over the last few days. And I couldn’t figure out why.

But, a few hours later, I was browsing MLB Trade Rumors, and noticed that they’d mentioned me under their “Baseball Blogs Weigh In” section, which explained the outburst in views. So I’d like to thank them for mentioning me on their site, it’s definitely the greatest accomplishment Breaking Wisconsin has achieved so far. Let me tell you, it’s one of the coolest things ever to see your own site on a popular site you read every day.

> Anyway, that’s about it. Thanks for reading, and feel free to leave your thoughts, if you have any.

Leave a Reply

