Pujols to meet with Marlins

> Finally, some news relating to one of the best free agents on the market. Actually, the best free agent on the market, if you want to be specific.

> Albert Pujols is apparently going to be in Miami over the next few days and is going to meet with the Marlins, a source told MLB. Pujols is coming off a “down-year” (by his standards, at least) in which he hit 37 home runs with 99 RBIs and a .299 average for the Cardinals. The 31-year old, who has been considered the best player in baseball over the past 10 years, is the best free agent on the market this offseason.

The Marlins, meanwhile, are apparently in interested in every top-tier free agent this offseason (as are the Nationals). But, I didn’t think that they were actually going to take this seriously. Because honestly, who wants to sign with a team who is coming off a season in which they came in last in the NL East, and who has to compete with the Phillies every year to get into the playoffs? The only way I’ll take the Marlins seriously is if they manage to sign multiple top free agents this offseason. Which could happen, since their payroll is going to rise by about $50 million, and they’re moving into a new stadium next year.

> Anyway, onto a scarier topic. Nationals catcher Wilson Ramos was kidnapped yesterday in his native country, Venezuela, where he plays winter ball. Apparently, some gunmen in a green van went to his house sometime in the evening, and just left with him. They must have made some threat to kill him, because Ramos doesn’t strike me as a guy who would just give in like that.

Reports are saying that the van was found abandoned earlier today and that investigations are still going on. But, I just read on Twitter a few minutes ago that the “men from the green van” are holding Ramos for a ransom in the millions. Really? It seems like with every passing day, I begin to look down more and more on South America, Mexico, etc. These losers are ruining our world. I hate to say stuff like that about other countries, and I know there are people out there who will get on me for saying it, but what am I supposed to think of them? Am I supposed to be impressed with greedy, money-wanting idiots who probably do crap like this all the time? Because I’m not.

Anyway, my prayers are with Ramos that he gets out of this unharmed.

> So there was no Brewers’ news again today. Ugh, this is a boring week. But, they did release their 2012 Spring Training Schedule a few days ago, if you want to check that out.

> Anyway, thanks for reading, and feel free to leave comments, if you have any.

2 Responses to Pujols to meet with Marlins

  1. elmaquino says:

    I’m not buying into all this effort by historically-stingy Marlins owner Jeff Loria. I bet he’ll get Reyes, make a big deal about how he offered deals to every single big free agent, and be able to say “Hey, I did what I could in the offseason!” when his Fish suck on ice in 2012.

    I’m sorry, but he’s just too terrible an owner to try this hard now.

    • breakingwi says:

      That’s what I was thinking. I doubt he’s taking all this seriously; he just wants to make himself look good.

      But, even if they do sign Pujols (which I HIGHLY doubt they will), fans won’t go to their games (assuming they’re trying to get more fans). This is also why I don’t understand the new stadium. It’s simple- people in Florida don’t like baseball. That’s what the Heat are for.

Leave a Reply

