La Russa getting gas from everyone- even his own fans?

2:26p This doesn’t really have much to do with the Brewers, but this topic caught my eye earlier today, and I just want to put it out there.

So, as Brewers fans, we all know Cardinals manager Tony La Russa has pretty much ruined his reputation with his actions during the last Cards-Brewers series at Miller Park. First, he accused the Brewers of “sign-stealing” and manipulating the lighting while the Cardinals were batting. So, in other words, he was saying the Brewers are cheating at home and their record at home, which has the best winning percentage in baseball, is all a fluke.

La Russa even filed a formal complaint to MLB over it. That was when I started to realize he had issues. But it wouldn’t stop there.

MLB dismissed La Russa’s idiotic complaint, like they should have. But, La Russa had to take it to another level.

The next day, Brewers reliever Takashi Saito was in a seventh inning jam with Albert Pujols batting. Catcher Jonathan Lucroy set up for a pitch inside, but the pitch took off on Saito and hit Pujols in the wrist. This was clearly unintentional, because Saito was in a jam with no outs and just trying to make a big pitch. Plus, what on earth would a Japanese reliever who has never even pitched in the NL Central before this year have against Pujols, or the Cardinals in general?

But, in the next inning, La Russa struck again.

La Russa decided to stick with reliever Jason Motte, who had pitched the inning before, to pitch against Ryan Braun. Motte threw a ball outside to Braun for the first pitch. Then, he came inside on the second pitch. I thought the inside pitch was just a pitch that got away from him, but those thoughts were erased after the next pitch.

Sure enough, Motte hit Braun. Intentionally. I don’t give a crap if La Russa says they didn’t hit him intentionally. It’s obvious. We aren’t stupid. Even last night, MLB Network hosts Mitch Williams and Ahmed Fareed were getting on La Russa for saying that he didn’t hit him intentionally.

But, after that incident, I noticed there were some Cardinals fans saying stuff like, “Why were the Brewers coming out of the dugout, expecting a fight a to go down? Give me a break.” Well, genius Cardinals fans, think about this. If we accidentally hit your star player, and you intentionally hit our star player, you expect the Brewers not to react? What planet are you guys from? If you know anything about baseball, you’d know that’s how the game works most of the time.

Anyway, as I mentioned earlier, La Russa completely freaked out at a Milwaukee reporter and said something along the lines of, “We didn’t intentionally hit him, but we were trying to send a message.” That’s like saying, “I accidentally spilled a drink on your carpet, but I did it on purpose.” (That was a bad comparison, but you get the point.) But that’s something I’ve noticed about La Russa, and even a few Cardinals fans: they love to contradict themselves. I don’t know why, but it’s true.

Anyway, that’s pretty much the entire story. But now, I’m going to get to the point about La Russa.

I was browsing through a Cardinals’ blog earlier today (sometimes I like looking at the rival blogs). The post was defending La Russa or something like that, and I looked at the comments of it. All the comments were bashing La Russa and saying things like, “We’re sick of his whining” or “I can’t stand him.” Assuming they were Brewers fans, I nearly replied to agree with them. Then, I noticed that they were Cardinals fans. That was a first for me. I had never seen fans over their a team hate their manager, who just so happens to be one of the best winning managers in baseball.

Now, I’m not saying that I had never heard fans complaining about their manager before. I was one of the Brewers fans who hated both Ken Macha and Ned Yost. But it was because they had no idea how to win games. At least La Russa knows how to win games, yet his fans hate him.

Anyway, that’s about it. I just found that interesting. I don’t know who La Russa thinks he is, but apparently he’s not realizing that he’s driving away his own fans.

Leave a Reply

