Cano, AL take Derby as NL falters

10:56p I expected the American League to win, but I didn’t expect a few of these guys to fail as badly as they did.

The American League won the Home Run Derby as a team, and, individually, the Yankees’ Robinson Cano defeated the Red Sox’s Adrian Gonzalez. Here are what the results were:

Robinson Cano 8 12 12
Adrian Gonzalez 9 11 11
David Ortiz 5 4
Prince Fielder 5 4
Matt Holliday 5
Jose Bautista 4
Rickie Weeks 3
Matt Kemp 2

(First table I’ve ever put in a post, by the way. Hope it looks good. This is how it works: the name in the first column, first round homers in the second column, second round homers in the third column, and third round homers in the fourth column.)

As you can see, nobody hit more than 10 homers in the first round, which surprised me. Gonzalez led the first round with nine, followed by Cano with eight. But three guys who I thought would do good really failed me: Jose Bautista, Rickie Weeks, and Matt Kemp. They got four, three, and two homers respectively. Bautista started off with two home runs, then went nine straight outs before hitting his last two homers. I could tell Weeks was going to have a rough night when he swung right throw the first pitch he swung at. And Kemp? I don’t really know what happened to him.

Matt Holliday, Prince Fielder, and David Ortiz all had to compete in a swing-off to see which two of them would advance. Holliday hit two, Ortiz hit four, and Fielder hit five.

In the second round, Ortiz and Fielder didn’t put up much of a fight as Cano and Gonzalez breezed onto the third round, as you can see by the number of homers.

The third round was close, but after Gonzalez hit 11 homers, Cano hit his 12th 407 feet to win it. (The longest homer of the night was a 474-footer by Fielder, if you’re wondering.)

So that was about it. It was fun to watch Cano and Fielder hit tape-measure shots, but, other than that, it wasn’t the greatest derby I’ve ever seen.

And with that, I leave you all until Friday. I’m headed up to Wisconsin Dells until then. I’ll bring my laptop, but I’m not so sure I’ll have internet, because most of the Wi-Fi servers there are crappy. So, if I don’t have internet, good-bye until Friday.

Leave a Reply

