Some quick changes before today’s game…

12:43p Well, I’m back. Sorry for not posting last night, but I was downtown for a huge party. I got to see some of the game, including the depressing 10th inning.

I’m not going to do a specific wrap-up thing like I usually do, since the next game is starting in less than a half hour. So I’ll keep it short- it was tied 3-3 until extras, then the bullpen (Marco Estrada) and defense fell apart in the 10th. The bullpen had actually done a great job before Estrada came in, and Shaun Marcum had a decent start, despite getting into a few jams.

Anyway, there are a few things I wanted to go over before today’s game. Some of them are pretty interesting, actually…

Willis to start against Crew, Volquez sent down

Now, this was something I did not see coming.

Former Marlins phenom Dontrelle Willis will be starting for the Reds today. He was called up from Triple-A earlier today, and he hasn’t started a Major League game since June 29, 2010. That was with Diamondbacks. He went 2-3 with a 5.62 ERA last year while splitting time with the Tigers and Diamondbacks.

I don’t know whether this is good or bad. Willis hasn’t been the same since his days with the Marlins. When he was with the Marlins, he won the National League Rookie of the Year Award after going 14-6 with a 3.30 ERA. Then, two years later, he went 22-10 with a 2.63 ERA for the best season of his career. But, since then, he’s flamed out and has had an ERA above five every season, except one, since.

The Reds, in a corresponding move, sent Edinson Volquez, who was supposed to start today’s game, to Triple-A. I was kind of looking forward to this game, because Volquez, who was named the Reds’ Opening Day starter, has been a complete failure this year, and this is already the second time he’s been sent down. He’s 5-4 with a 5.93 ERA.

Anyway, back to Willis. He’s 3-2 with a 2.65 ERA in his career against the Brewers, but those stats are from his days with the Marlins, and he’s changed quite a bit since. Hopefully we can take advantage of him not pitching the Majors for awhile and beat him.

Scarpetta supposedly called up

I don’t know if this is official, but I heard on the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers’ Twitter account that Cody Scarpetta had been called up from the Minor Leagues. So far, I haven’t seen any news that can prove this official, but I’ll have some more on it later if I can figure out more.

According to baseball-reference.com, Scarpetta was 5-4 with a 4.40 ERA this year with the Huntsville Stars, the Double-A affiliate of the Brewers. He was in 17 games- all of them starts- and I’m not sure what the Brewers intend to do with him, if he’s actually been called up. The rotation is full, so I’d assume he’s going to help the bullpen.

Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for now. I should have a post up later for today’s game.

Leave a Reply

