Hart ready to play first

> With the departure of Prince Fielder made on Tuesday when he signed a nine-year, $214 million pact with the Tigers, that left the gaping hole at first base for the Brewers everyone was expecting.

Right now, Mat Gamel is the leading candidate for the starting job, and he’ll probably get it. With Fielder gone, that also leaves a left-handed hole in the batting order, which Gamel could also take over. However, the Brewers don’t know what they’re going to get from him, as he’s torn of the Minors over the past few years, but has been inconsistent at the Major League level. Personally, I’d like to see him finally get some actual playing time, something he hasn’t really had yet at the Major League level, but still- what do the Brewers do if he still doesn’t produce, even with that playing time?

I’ve been saying this all along, and recently the Brewers have finally made note of it- Corey Hart can play first base. This could be a backup plan if Gamel doesn’t work out. It could also work if Norichika Aoki ends up vying for a starting spot in the outfield.

Hart does have experience at first- in fact, he came up as a first baseman, but was converted to a right fielder fairly easily. However, his defense and range in right field has gradually become worse and worse over the past few years, so maybe the move back to first wouldn’t be such a bad idea.

On Thursday, Hart actually spoke to 1250-AM WSSP, one of Milwaukee’s local radio stations, that he would be willing to do it, but would need time to make the transition back to first. So hopefully it goes well, if he does need to make the transition back.

> The Brewers FanFest, known as Brewers On Deck, takes place tomorrow at the Frontier Airlines Center in Milwaukee from 10-5 P.M. (I believe those are the hours). I have tickets, but I don’t know if I’m going or not yet.

I’ve never been to one of these before, so I can’t tell you how it is, but I’ve heard good things about it. However, I’ve heard the autograph lines can be extremely long, so keep that in mind if you’re headed there specifically for that.

> I made my second post on Reviewing the Brew last night (you can read it here). In short, I was just agreeing with Hart’s comment about Fielder not being a team leader, and that the loss of Craig Counsell could mean more to the team, from a leadership standpoint.

Anyway, I’ve decided that I’m going to mainly keep my posts about news regarding the Brewers here on BW, and write more opinionated and creative pieces for RtB. I will write that kind of stuff on here every now and then as well when there isn’t news to report, but I’ll rarely post a straight-up news article on RtB, because it’s likely another writer will get to it before me.

By the way, I guess I kind of ditched the idea of reviewing all of the rotations in the NL Central. I didn’t take into consideration that there were still starters on the market, and the possibility of them signing with NL Central teams, so I might wait awhile before I start those articles up again. But you can look back at my reviews of the Cubs and Astros, if you want.

> And that’s about it for now. Thanks for reading, and feel free to leave your thoughts.

2 Responses to Hart ready to play first

  1. elmaquino says:

    How do you think the Cards’ and Brewers’ rotations would stack up if this Oswalt deal goes through?

    • breakingwi says:

      Gallardo, Greinke, Marcum, Wolf, Narveson
      Wainwright, Carpenter, Garcia, Oswalt, Lohse

      It’s tough, but I think I give it to the Cards. However, the Cards’ rotation is significantly older (meaning there’s more veterans). It’ll be interesting to see if Oswalt bounces back from his injury-plagued 2011 and if Lohse can repeat.

      But I heard the Oswalt reports were false; are they saying they’re true again?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

