Braun reportedly tests positive for PEDs

> Well, this is just wonderful.

> According to a few sources via Twitter, Ryan Braun has tested positive for performance-enhancing drugs. The news has yet to officially released by the MLB because Braun is apparently appealing the tests.

Aside from that, I don’t know much about it yet. But, I’ll have updates as the night goes on, so stay tuned to see whether or not this is real…

UPDATE: Just heard Braun is still disputing that he did anything wrong. However, if he fails the second PED test, then he’ll receive a 50-game suspension to begin the 2012 season. Exactly what the the Brewers don’t need…

UPDATE 2: According to ESPN, Braun already knew that he could be facing a 50-game suspension possibly weeks before he was named NL MVP. But, he did come out and say this:

“I would never do steroids because if I did, I would hit 60 or 70 home runs.”

Which is probably true. Being a loyal Brewer fan, I’m not going to jump to judge him right away, because we don’t even know if it’s true yet. But, there’s already been a ton of negative feedback to this piece of news, unfortunately.

UPDATE 3: Just heard that no player has ever successfully appealed a drug test. That doesn’t stand well for Braun, but hey, there’s a first time for everything… Hopefully.

UPDATE 4: Braun has only tested above the “normal ratio” for testosterone, but is still appealing. It isn’t steroid positive, though. But Braun is still going to have to face that 50-game suspension if all this doesn’t work out.

UPDATE 5: Apparently there are some “highly unusual circumstances” surrounding this whole thing, and spokespeople of Braun are saying that it will prove his innocence. Can’t wait to hear what it may be.

UPDATE 6: This will probably be my last update of the night, I’ll have a wrap-up on this whole thing tomorrow.

Anyway, I’m my sources so far have really been conflicting each other. According to El Maquino (@El_Maquino), a St. Louis source has said that it’s going to be announced tomorrow morning that Braun is going to receive the suspension; they’re just announcing it tonight, but it’s already decided.

Meanwhile, the spokespeople surrounding Braun are still insisting that the “unusual circumstances” are going to prevent him from getting suspended. You can read more about that here, but, I’m going to believe the spokespeople around Braun.

But we may not even here a decision from the arbitrator for awhile, so probably not tomorrow.

It feels like I’m the only still supporting Braun. I’ve noticed that everyone around me (in other words, reading the statuses on Facebook) is already bashing him and saying the baseball is going to be dead in Milwaukee.

Are you kidding me?

I really wish ESPN hadn’t let that news out, because it’s got people jumping to conclusions too early. But that’s ESPN for you. They’ve never impressed me, and, especially if it’s proven that Braun didn’t do the drugs, it’s going to be the last straw. All of those losers over there- especially Skip Bayless, who has been bashing Braun the most through all this- should be laid off for spreading lies. Is that what they’re paid to do? Oh yeah, it’s ESPN- so probably.

I know saying that is going to make me look stupid if Braun actually did do the drugs. But I’ve got his back, even if no one else does. And, until the news comes out, I’m believing that he didn’t.

UPDATE 7: I know I said that I wasn’t going to update this post anymore, but, if you’ve got the time, please read this. I’m becoming more and more confident that Braun is truly innocent…

7 Responses to Braun reportedly tests positive for PEDs

  1. elmaquino says:

    YYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. elmaquino says:

    you lost Fielder and the NLCS too. you’re bound to get SOMETHING to go your way! :P

    Aramis Ramirez, maybe?

  3. elmaquino says:

    Hate to rain on your parade, but you DID kinda rip on the Cards when Pujols left so…

    I’m pretty freakin happy about this! HUGE head start for the Cards in the NLC. Better lineup, good bullpen all year, and we get Wainwright back too.

  4. Chris Ross says:

    This is just an amazing story. Manny Ramirez was something but Ryan Braun is right in the prime of his career getting caught. And to come off an MVP season and have this cloud it is unbelievable. It’s going to be interesting to see what happens to Ryan Braun and what kind of precedent the MLB sets in this kind of case. What a blow to a the MLB after so much success with their drug program. Who knows who else is out there on the juice. Also, you think you could check out my blog because I’d love to hear what you have to say http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2011/12/10/braun-over-brains-mvp/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

