After Gallardo blows away Phils, Brewers rally in seventh

Today is 9/11. 10 years ago today, I was sitting in preschool. In fact, I’m amazed I even have any memory of this day (but I’ve been known to remember my early years better than most). Anyway, as I was sitting in my desk at preschool, talking with friends that I wish I was still in contact with today, when I noticed the teachers starting to get antsy and nervous. Nobody else in the class noticed this, at least they weren’t showing it- but I wouldn’t expect a class of four year-olds to, I guess, which is why I’m so surprised I picked up on it. The teachers didn’t say anything, obviously because they didn’t expect a group of four year-olds to even remotely understand the events the had just occurred in New York.

I don’t remember the rest of the day all that well. I’m guessing my parents tried to explain to me what had happened, but I know that it wasn’t until a few years later that I actually realized the significance of that event to our country. And, to be honest, it wasn’t until last year that I saw actual footage of the disaster. But that’s probably a good thing, because if I’d been any younger, I wouldn’t have been able to take it. It was even tough for me to take last year, seeing the two planes crash into the towers, hearing the people scream, watching the people jump… Just terrifying. But, today, on the 10th anniversary of 9/11, Americans can proudly say that the very man behind 9/11- Osama Bin Laden- is gone for good.

Anyway, now that I’m done talking about that, let me say one more thing- to all the men and women who serve America, I salute you.

On one of the most depressing days of the year, the Brewers cheered me up by defeating one of my least favorite teams- the Phillies- 3-2. It snapped a five-game losing streak that the Brewers had going since last week in St. Louis. Speaking of St. Louis, the Cardinals defeated the Braves today, 6-3, and that lowered the Brewers’ magic number to 10, since the Brewers won as well. But the Cards swept the Braves, and are just 4.5 games back in the Wildcard race.

Yovani Gallardo flat-out killed the Phillies. He went seven great innings, giving up two runs on just three hits. He walked one and struck out 12, which ties a career-high. It was also Gallardo’s 16th win of the season, which continues to add on to a career-high in that category as well.

The Brewers got on the board against Vance Worley in the second inning on Jonathan Lucroy’s RBI groundout. They had tons of other chances to score, but, up until the seventh inning, the Brewers did what they’ve done best over the past few days- leave tons of runners in scoring position.

Gallardo ran into trouble in the sixth inning, giving up homers to both Shane Victorino and Ryan Howard to give the Phillies a 2-1 lead. Gallardo’s home runs allowed stat ballooned to 26 after today, and, in three September starts, he’s given up eight home runs. As long as they’re solo home runs, I’m fine with it, but, before today, they’d always be with runners on base.

Anyway, the Brewers finally gave the Phillies a taste of their own medicine in the seventh inning- they got three straight two-out hits, capped off by a go-ahead single by Ryan Braun. All of this happened off Worley, who took just his second loss of the year. It was also the first time in 14 games that Worley started that the Phillies have lost.

Rickie Weeks was in the starting lineup today after drawing a walk in last night’s game. But, he still doesn’t have an official at-bat since returning from the DL- he drew another walk today, and was hit by a pitch. I don’t know if the Phillies are extremely stupid, or if Weeks got a better eye while on the DL, but he just didn’t get anything to hit.

The Brewers have an off-day tomorrow, but will open up a two-game series with the Rockies at Miller Park on Tuesday. Zack Greinke (14-6, 3.93 ERA), who is 10-0 at Miller Park this year, will go for the Brewers. He has two starts against the Rockies this year, and has taken no-decisions in both, but the Brewers came back to win both of those games after Greinke left while on the hook for the loss. Greinke’s ERA in those two starts is 3.00, and he’s 1-1 with a 5.56 ERA overall in his career against the Rox.

The Rockies will counter with the struggling Esmil Rogers (6-5, 6.26 ERA). His ERA has been over 6.00 practically all season, despite his record starting off 5-1. Rogers has a 6.35 ERA in his career against the Brewers.

2 Responses to After Gallardo blows away Phils, Brewers rally in seventh

  1. elmaquino says:

    Is Gallardo the best pitcher on the team in your opinion? It’s tough to say even if you haven’t watched them all year…

    • breakingwi says:

      Hard to say. He’s definitely having his ups and downs. His home runs allowed are more than twice what they were last year, and his strikeouts are down. But, he has a career-high in wins and innings pitched. Anyway, if Greinke had a better start to the season, I would probably say him, but it’s Gallardo right now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

